Diane Silver
Calling for contra, square and other set dancing; couples dance and other social dances.
I can't believe this much fun is legal!
Contact Schedule Dance Calling Asheville Area Family Dance Articles, Essays, Publications, etc.
Home Page What Others Have to Say Workshops Clogging / Flatfooting Day-Job/Non-Dance Stuff

Schedule History
2012


Listed in CHRONOLOGICAL order
Special Events are in GREEN.
Date 2012
Event
Band
Location
Saturday, December 31, 2011
New Year's Eve Dance
Hot Sonata
Charlotte, NC
Saturday, January 7, 2012
Contra Dance
Historic Jonesborough Dance Society
Hot Sonata
Jonesborough, TN
Saturday, January 14, 2012
Family Dance, 6:00 - 7:30 p.m.
Contra Dance 8:00 - 11:00
Old Farmer's Ball
Laura Lengnick and Friends
Asheville YMCA (downtown)
Tuesday, January 17, 2012
Contra Dance
Fiddle and Bow Country Dancers
Donna Hébert and Max Cohen
Winston-Salem, NC
Friday-Sunday, January 27-29, 2012
Swing Shift Dance Weekend
Euphor
Lexington and Berea, KY
Saturday, February 4, 2012
Contra Dance
Footloose or Contrazz
Triangle Country Dancers
Carrboro, NC
Thursday, February 9, 2012
Contra Dance
Old Farmer's Ball
Eye of the Monkey
Warren Wilson College, Asheville, NC
Saturday, February 11, 2012
Family Dance, 6:00 - 7:30 p.m.
Contra Dance 8:00 - 11:00
Old Farmer's Ball
open band
Asheville YMCA (downtown)
Monday, February 20, 2012
Contra Dance
The Dancing Bears
Grey Eagle Tavern
Asheville, NC
Friday, March 2, 2012
Contra Dance
Traditional Austin Area Dance Assoc.
LNO - the Lost and Nameless Orchestra
Austin, TX
Saturday, March 10, 2012
Family Dance, 6:00 - 7:30 p.m.
Contra Dance 8:00 - 11:00
Old Farmer's Ball
open band
Asheville YMCA (downtown)
Monday, March 26, 2012
Contra Dance
Atlantic Crossing
Grey Eagle Tavern
Asheville, NC
Thursday, March 29, 2012
Contra Dance
Old Farmer's Ball
Atlantic Crossing
Warren Wilson College, Asheville, NC
Saturday, March 31, 2012
Contra Dance
Harvest Moon Folk Society
Atlantic Crossing
River Falls Lodge, SC
Saturday, April 14, 2012
Family Dance, 6:00 - 7:30 p.m.
Contra Dance 8:00 - 11:00
Old Farmer's Ball
open band
Asheville YMCA (downtown)
Friday, May 4, 2012
Contra Dance
Chattahoochee Country Dancers
Confluence
Atlanta, GA
Saturday, May 5, 2012
Contra Dance
Harvest Moon Folk Society
Confluence
River Falls Lodge, SC
Saturday, May 12, 2012
Family Dance, 6:00 - 7:30 p.m.
Contra Dance 8:00 - 11:00
Old Farmer's Ball
open band
Asheville YMCA (downtown)
Friday-Sunday, May 18-20, 2012
Blue Moon Dance Weekend
Perpetual e-Motion
Huntsville, Alabama
Saturday, May 26, 2012
Contra Dance
The Screaming Earwigs
Pasadena, CA
Sunday, May 27, 2012
SBCDS Memorial Day Weekend Double Dance and Potluck
2:00-5:00, Les Amis;
6:30-9:30, Bonfire
Santa Barbara, CA
Saturday, June 9, 2012
Family Dance, 6:00 - 7:30 p.m.
Contra Dance 8:00 - 11:00
Old Farmer's Ball
open band
Asheville YMCA (downtown)
Thursday, June 14, 2012
Barn Dance
TBA
Private Event
Sunday, June 17, 2012
Contra Dance
Keeping It Reel
Boca Raton, Fla.
Thursday, June 21, 2012
Contra Dance
Old Farmer's Ball
Perpetual e-Motion
Warren Wilson College, Asheville, NC
Thursday, June 28, 2012
7:30 pm
"Old School Country Dance" summer dance series
Crooked Pine String Band
Dunns Rock Community Center, Brevard, NC
Friday-Saturday, June 29-30, 2012
Jonesborough Days
Contra Dance & Workshops
Historic Jonesborough Dance Society
Changleing and Boom Chuck, with Noah Grunzweig also calling
Jonesborough, TN
Saturday, July 14, 2012
Family Dance, 6:00 - 7:30 p.m.
Contra Dance 8:00 - 11:00
Old Farmer's Ball
open band
Asheville YMCA (downtown)
Thursday, August 2, 2012
7:30 pm
"Old School Country Dance" summer dance series
The Shape Shifters
Dunns Rock Community Center, Brevard, NC
Thursday, August 9, 2012
Contra Dance
Country Dancers of Rochester
The Mean Lids
Rochester, NY
Friday, August 10, 2012
Contra Dance
Queen City Contras
The Mean Lids
Burlington, VT
Saturday, August 11, 2012
Community Dance
The Mean Lids
Camp Hill Community, Copake, N.Y.
Sunday, August 12, 2012
Brattleboro Contra Dance
The Mean Lids
Brattleboro, VT
Wednesday, August 15, 2012
Amherst Downtown Contra Dance Series
The Mean Lids
Amherst, MA
Thursday, August 16, 2012
Thursday Contras
The Mean Lids
Scout House,
Concord, MA
Saturday, August 18, 2012
Greenfield Contra Dance
The Mean Lids
Guiding Star Grange,
Greenfield, MA
August 24-26, 2012
Splash Dance
Old Farmer's Ball Dance Weekend
(I'll be organizing open calling & calling some myself)
Open Bands anchored by great Asheville musicians
Camp Merrimac,
Black Mountain, NC
Sunday, September 2, 2012
Cindy and Paul's Wedding Dance - open to the community; RSVP required.
The Elftones
Greenwood, VA
Sunday, September 2, 2012
"Club" Contra (Techno contra)
DJ'd music by Brian Hamshar
Greenwood, VA
Friday - Sunday, September 7-9, 2012
Moondance
Lift Ticket and Contraversial.
Seth Tepfer also calling.
Table Rock State Park, SC
Tuesday, September 18, 2012
Contra Dance
Fiddle and Bow Country Dancers
English Contra Dance Band (yup, from England)
Clemmons, NC
Wednesday, September 19, 2012
Contra Dance
Charlotte Dance Gypsies
English Contra Dance Band (yup, from England)
Charlotte, NC (Chantilly Hall)
Friday, September 21, 2012
Wedding Dance
Blue-Eyed Girl
Private Event
Saturday, September 22, 2012
Community Dance
Flat Creek Boys
Mill Around the Village, Park St., Swannanoa, NC
3:30 - 5:00
Saturday, September 22, 2012
Wedding Dance
Hogtown Squealers
Private Event
Saturday, September 29, 2012
Wedding Dance
Jamie Laval and Friends
Private Event
Monday, October 1, 2012
Contra Dance
Mock Turtle Soup
Grey Eagle Tavern
Asheville, NC
Friday, October 12, 2012
7:30 pm
Old School Country Dance
Crooked Pine String Band
Dunns Rock Community Center, Brevard, NC
Thursday, October 25, 2012
Contra Dance
Old Farmer's Ball
KudZoo - Fred and Pam Stoll, Roger Gold, Jeff Hersk
Warren Wilson College, Asheville, NC
Saturday, October 27, 2012
Monster Mash Contra Dance
Boom Chuck and TBA.
Tamara McGovern also calling.
River Falls Lodge, SC
Harvest Moon Folk Society
Friday, November 16, 2012
OFB Advanced Contra Dance
Old Farmer's Ball
Flying the Tune -- Lew Gelfond and June Advicula
Warren Wilson College, Asheville, NC
Sunday, November 18, 2012
4:00 - 6:00
Family Dance
benefit for Azalea Mountain School
Jeff Baker and June Advicula
Asheville Music Hall, 31 Patton Ave., Asheville, NC
Thursday-Sunday, November 22-25, 2012
Thanksgiving Family Dance Camp
Crooked Pine String Band
Blue Ridge Assembly YMCA Camp, Black Mountain, NC
Sunday, December 9, 2012
Blue Ridge Contra Dance
3:30 lesson; 4:00 - 6:30 dance.
Blue Ridge Rounders
Sunnydale, a historic log cabin lodge with wooden dance floor
located at 334 South Trade Street (aka US 176), near the IGA Grocery in Tryon, NC.
There is ample parking close by except directly in front of the Dollar General.
Monday, December 31, 2012 - Tuesday, Jan. 1, 2013
Bogue Banks Boogie
New Year's Eve Dance
The Avant Gardeners
Trinity Camp and Conference Center, "nestled into the maritime forest between the sound and the sea on one of North Carolina’s gorgeous barrier islands."
Home