Diane Silver
Calling for contra, square and other set dancing; couples dance and other social dances.
I can't believe this much fun is legal!
Contact Schedule Dance Calling Asheville Area Family Dance Articles, Essays, Publications, etc.
Home Page What Others Have to Say Workshops Clogging / Flatfooting Day-Job/Non-Dance Stuff

Schedule History
2010

Contacts for references available upon request.

Listed in REVERSE-chronologicl order

Date 2010
Event
Band
Location
Saturday, December 4, 2010
Family Dance
Jon Cooley & Daniel Sivalia
ArtSpace Charter School, Swannanoa, NC
Thursday-Sunday, November 25-28, 2010
Thanksgiving Family Dance Camp
Crooked Pine String Band
Blue Ridge Assembly YMCA Camp, Black Mountain, NC
Saturday, November 20, 2010
Contra Dance
Fiddle and Bow Country Dancers
Perpetual e-Motion
(John Coté and Ed Howe)
Greensboro, NC
Friday, November 19, 2010
Contra Dance
Fancy Feet - Guilford College's Social Dance Club
Perpetual e-Motion
(John Coté and Ed Howe)
Guilford College, Greensboro, NC
Thursday, November 18, 2010
Contra Dance
Old Farmer's Ball
Perpetual e-Motion
(John Coté and Ed Howe)
Warren Wilson College, Asheville, NC
Wednesday, November 17, 2010
Contra Dance
Charlotte Dance Gypsies
Perpetual e-Motion
(John Coté and Ed Howe)
Charlotte
Tuesday, November 16, 2010
Contra Dance
Fiddle and Bow Country Dancers
Perpetual e-Motion
(John Coté and Ed Howe)
Winston Salem
Monday, November 15, 2010
Contra Dance
Perpetual e-Motion
(John Coté and Ed Howe)
Grey Eagle Tavern
Asheville, NC
Friday-Sunday, November 12-14, 2010
Atlanta Dance Weekend
Tidal Wave/Raz de Marée and Perpetual e-Motion
(John Coté and Ed Howe)
Atlanta, GA
Friday-Sunday, November 5-7, 2010
Gypsy Moon Ball
Dance Weekend
Perpetual e-Motion
(John Coté and Ed Howe)
Indianapolis, IN  
Saturday, October 30, 2010
Monster Mash
Steam Shovel and Appalachian Storm
River Falls Lodge, SC
Harvest Moon Folk Society
Thursday, October 14, 2010
Contra Dance
Tidal Wave/Raz de Marée
Old Farmer's Ball
Warren Wilson College, Asheville, NC
Friday - Sunday, October 1-3, 2010
Southeast Dance Leadership Conference
Organizing Tools for Vibrant Dance Communities
Haw River State Park, NC
Wednesday, September 29, 2010
Workshop for Buncombe County Elementary Music Teachers
NA
Weaverville Elementary School
Saturday, September 25, 2010
UNCA Campus Dance
Blue-Eyed Girl
UNC-Asheville
Friday - Sunday, September 17-19, 2010
Squirrel Moon Dance Weekend
Changeling
Madison, WI
Friday - Sunday, September 10-12, 2010
Moondance
Crowfoot & Steam Shovel, with George Marshall calling too.
Table Rock State Park, SC
Harvest Moon Folk Society
Monday, September 6, 2010
Contra Dance
The Avant Gardeners
Grey Eagle Tavern
Asheville, NC
Sunday, September 5, 2010
Private Event
Appalachian Storm
Boone, NC
September 4, 2010
ContrAddiction -
10 hour Day of Dance
The Contrarians
Maryville, TN
Saturday, August 15, 2010
Private Event
Blue-Eyed Girl
Private
August 13 - 15, 2010
Splash Dance
Old Farmer's BallDance Weekend
(formerly Reunion)
(I'll be organizing open calling & calling some myself)
Open Bands anchored by great Asheville musicians
Camp Merrimac,
Black Mountain, NC
Monday, August 9, 2010
Contra Dance
The Boys of Buncombe
Grey Eagle Tavern
Asheville, NC
Saturday, August 7, 2010
Contra Dance
Appalachian Storm
John C. Campbell Folk School, Brasstown, NC
Friday, August 6, 2010
Community Dance
Swannanoa Shindig
Laurie Fisher & Lew Gelfond
Swannanoa, NC
Thursday, August 5, 2010
Children's Dance
Laurie Fisher & Karen Gaughan
Leicester, NC - Public Library, 11-12 am
Saturday, July 24, 2010
Contra Dance
Oh! Contraire Dance Association
Al & Alice White
Berea, KY
July 18 - 24, 2010
Cumberland Dance Week
The Avant Gardeners, Al & Alice White, Brad Battey, and many more!
KY Leadership Center (4H Camp)
England Tour! - End
 
 
 
Saturday, June 26, 2010
Bakewell International Day of Dance - 10 hours of workshops and dancing, including our main-event evening Contra dance
Appalachian Storm
Bakewell, Derbyshire
Thursday, June 24, 2010
Contra Dance
Appalachian Storm
Dunster, Somerset - Tithe Barn, the original barn of the 16th century Benedictine Monastery
Wednesday, June 23, 2010
Contra Dance
Appalachian Storm
Lynton/Lynmouth, Somerset - Lynton Town Hall
Monday, June 21, 2010
Contra Dance
Loughborough Folk Dance Club
Appalachian Storm
Loughborough, Leicestershire - St Peters Community Centre
Saturday, June 19, 2010
Lichfield Folk Festival
Daytime Contra workshops + evening Contra Dance
Appalachian Storm
Lichfield, Staffordshire
Friday, June 18, 2010
Contra Dance
Appalachian Storm
Leeds
England Tour! - Begin
 
 
 
Saturday, June 5, 2010
Contra Dance
Tidal Wave/Raz de Marée
Falmouth, Maine
Friday, June 4, 2010
6:30: Community Dance
7:30: Tasty Treat Potluck
8:00: contra dance
Contra Dance
Tidal Wave/Raz de Marée
Belfast, Maine
Belfast Flying Shoes Dance Series
American Legion Hall on High St.
Thursday, June 3, 2010
Contra Dance
George Wilson, Glen Loper and Bruce Rosen
Scout House
Concord, MA
Sunday, May 30, 2010
Brattleboro Dawn Dance
dance 7:00 pm - 7:00 am
I'll be calling the glorious late shift for the die hards - 3:30 - 7:00 am!
Multiple Bands and Callers
Brattleboro, VT
Saturday, May 29, 2010
Contra Dance
Dave Langford and Peter Barnes
Montpelier, VT
Friday, May 28, 2010
Contra Dance
Confluence
Syracuse, NY
Thursday, May 27, 2010
Contra Dance
TBA
Philadelphia, PA
Wednesday, May 26, 2010
Contra Dance
Sugar Beat
Elke Baker (fiddle), Susan Brandt (flute) and Marc Glickman (piano and bodhrán)
Baltimore, MD
Sunday, May 16, 2010
Advanced Contra Dance
Notorious
River Falls
Monday, May 10, 2010
Contra Dance
The Euphoria String Band
(Patrick Crouch, Don Francis, Joe Hasty, Bob Kogut)
Grey Eagle Tavern
Asheville, NC
Saturday, May 8, 2010
Private Event
Appalachian Storm
Private
Friday, May 7, 2010
Contra Dance
Celo House Band
Celo, NC
Saturday, April 17, 2010
Contra Dance
The Red Wellies
Greensboro, NC
Wednesday, April 14, 2010
Contra Dance
Cailen Campbell & Dave Brown
Greenville, SC
Saturday, April 3, 2010
Private Event
Appalachian Storm
Winston-Salem, NC
Thursday, April 1, 2010
Contra Dance
Old Farmer's Ball
Great Big Taters
(Hilarie & Mark Burhans, Jane Rothfield, Alan Carr)
Warren Wilson College, Asheville, NC
Fri - Sun.
March 26-28
The Pigtown Fling
Dance Weekend
Atlantic Crossing
Cincinnati, OH
Saturday, March 13, 2010
Contra Dance
Perpetual e-Motion
(John Coté and Ed Howe)
Sautee, GA
Sautee Nachoochee Contra
Friday, March 12, 2010
Contra Dance
Perpetual e-Motion
John Coté and Ed Howe)
Atlanta, GA
Chattahoochee Country Dancers
Sunday, March 7, 2010
Contra Dance
Perpetual e-Motion
(John Coté and Ed Howe)
Gainesville, Fla.  
Saturday, March 6, 2010
Contra Dance
Perpetual e-Motion
(John Coté and Ed Howe)
Cocoa Beach, Fla.  
Friday, March 5, 2010
Contra Dance
Perpetual e-Motion
(John Coté and Ed Howe)
Tampa, Fla.  
Saturday, January 30, 2010
Private Event
Appalachian Storm
Private
Saturday, January 23, 2010
Contra Dance
Benefit for the Burnsville High School Ecology Club
Bruce Green & Friends
Burnsville, NC
Thursday, January 21, 2010
Contra Dance
Blue-Eyed Girl
Old Farmer's Ball
Warren Wilson College, Asheville, NC
Fri - Sun.
January 8-10
The Chambana Jan Jam Contra Dance Weekend
U4 (Tom and Matt Turino, Michael Shapiro & Michael Valliant), and Pat and Possum (Charlie Walden and Pat Plunkett)
Champaign-Urbana, IL



Back to Current Schedule
Home