Diane Silver
Calling for contra, square and other set dancing; couples dance and other social dances.
I can't believe this much fun is legal!
Contact Schedule Dance Calling Asheville Area Family Dance Articles, Essays, Publications, etc.
Home Page What Others Have to Say Workshops Clogging / Flatfooting Day-Job/Non-Dance Stuff

Schedule History
2008

Contacts for references available upon request.

Listed in REVERSE-chronologicl order

Special Events are in GREEN.
Date 2008
Event
Band
Location
Wednesday, December 31, 2008
New Year's Eve Contra Dance
Wind that Shakes the Barley
Atlanta, GA
Chattahoochee Country Dancers
Thursday, December 25, 2008
Contra Dance
Blue Ridge Rounders
Old Farmer's Ball
Fairview Community Center, Asheville, NC
Monday, December 15, 2008
Contra Dance
The Morrison Brothers
Grey Eagle Tavern
Asheville, NC
Friday, December 12, 2008
Private Event
National Park Service Holiday Party
The Elftones
Gatlinburg, TN
Saturday, December 6, 2008
Contra Dance
House Red (Shawn Brenneman, Jonathan Thielen and Owen Morrison)
River Falls Lodge, SC
Harvest Moon Folk Society
 
Thursday, November 13, 2008
Contra Dance
Open Band - we're hosting the CDSS Executive Committee!
Old Farmer's Ball
Fairview Community Center, Asheville, NC
Saturday, November 1, 2008
Monster Mash
Laura and the Lava Lamps (Afternoon) and Euphoria String Band (Evening)
River Falls Lodge, SC
Harvest Moon Folk Society
 
Friday, October 31, 2008
Contra Dance
Steam Shovel
(David White-fiddle, Roger Gold-guitar)
Atlanta, GA
Chattahoochee Country Dancers
Saturday, October 25, 2008
Community Dance - Mountain Discovery Charter School
MDCS House Band
Southwestern Community College (old Almond School), Sylva, NC
Monday, September 29, 2008
Contra Dance
Firefly
(Julia Weatherford, Barbara Davis, Pearl Mueller, Laurel Davis)
Grey Eagle Tavern
Asheville, NC
Saturday, September 20, 2008
Private Event
Steve Burnside and Friends
Balsam Reserve, NC
Monday, September 1, 2008
Community Dance - Private Event
David White and friends
Greenville, SC
Friday, August 29, 2008
Contra Dance
Jon Singleton and Joe Kline
UNC-Charlotte(Contra Dance Carolina
Thursday, August 28, 2008
Contra Dance
The Cornstalkers - Laura Lengnick, Matt Turino, Megan Cornett
Old Farmer's Ball
Warren Wilson College, Swannanoa, NC
August 22 - 24, 2008
Old Farmer's Ball Reunion Dance Weekend
(I'll be organizing open calling & calling some myself)
Open Band
Camp Merrimac,
Black Mountain, NC
Friday, August 15, 2008
Contra Dance

Century Center, Carrboro, NC
Carolina Song & Dance Association
Friday, August 8, 2008
Advanced Contra Dance
TBA
River Falls Lodge, SC
Harvest Moon Folk Society
 
July 27 - Aug. 2, 2008
Cumberland Dance Week
Avant Gardeners, Chicory, and many more!
KY Leadership Center (4H Camp)
Saturday, July 26, 2008
Contra Dance
Oh! Contraire Dance Association
Old Paris - Elkhorn
Berea, KY
Friday-Sunday, July 18-20, 2008
River Rendezvous Dance Weekend
Hotpoint String Band &
Lift Ticket
Coshocton, OH
Monday, July 14, 2008
Contra Dance
Land of Sky
Grey Eagle Tavern
Asheville, NC
Friday-Saturday, July 4-5, 2008
Jonesborough Days Festival
Celticladda, Land of Sky, Appalachian Storm,and others
Historic Jonesborough Visitors Center,
Jonesborough, TN
Saturday, June 28, 2008
Private Event - Wedding Dance
Steam Shovel
Johnson City, TN
Saturday, June 22, 2008
WORKSHOPS - Advanced contra, and calling
Summer Soiree Dance Weekend
Appalachian Storm
Cincinnati, OH
Saturday, June 14, 2008
Contra Dance
John C. Campbell Folk School
Appalachian Storm
Brasstown, NC
Thursday, June 12, 2008
Contra Dance
Mock Turtle Soup
Old Farmer's Ball
Warren Wilson College, Swannanoa, NC
Sunday, May 25, 2008
CONTRATHON
10:00 am - 10:00 pm
(with Hank Morris also calling)
Stream Shovel
(David While & Roger Gold) &
Fiddlewitch
(Laurie Fisher, Karen Gaughan, Art Shuster, Skip Metheny)
Glendale Springs, NC
Historic Jonesborough Dance Society
Saturday, May 24, 2008
Community Dance - Mountain Discovery Charter School
MDCS House Band
Southwestern Community College (old Almond School), Sylva, NC
Saturday, May 17, 2008
Family Dance 6:00 - 7:30 +
Asheville Community Dance Contra Dance 8:00 - 11:00
Appalachian Storm
Calvary Episcopal Church, Fletcher, NC
Monday, May 12, 2008
Contra Dance
The Kruger Brothers
Grey Eagle Tavern
Asheville, NC
Friday, May 9, 2008
Contra Dance
Rhythm Rollers from Seattle
Cathie Whitesides, Laurie Andres, & WB Reid
Carrboro, NC
Triangle Country Dancers
Saturday, May 3, 2008
Contra Dance
Spare Parts (Liz Stell, Bill Matthiesen)
Montpelier, VT, Capitol City Grange Hall
Friday, May 2, 2008
6:30: Community Dance
7:30: Tasty Treat Potluck
8:00: contra dance
Contra Dance
Notorious
Belfast, Maine
Belfast Flying Shoes Dance Series
American Legion Hall on High St.
Sat., April 26, 2008
multiple callers - I'll be in the main hall,around 12:30 p.m.
Also, Clogging for Kids workshop Sun. 11:00.
Contra Dance
New England Folk Festival - NEFFA
Sat.: NEFFA Youth Festival Orchestra -- all musicians under 25!
Sun. workshop: Grey Owl
Mansfield, MA
Saturday, April 12, 2008
Family Dance 6:00 - 7:30 +
Asheville Community Dance Contra Dance 8:00 - 11:00
TBA
Calvary Episcopal Church, Fletcher, NC
Friday, April 11, 2008
Contra Dance
Hey For 3
(Mark Mueller & Friends)

Davidson I. B. Middle School,
251 South Street
Davidson, NC 28036
(Charlotte area)
Contra Dance Carolina
Saturday, April 5, 2007
Homeschool Historical Ball
Laura Lengnick & Karen Gaughan
Private Event
Charlotte, NC
Thursday, April 3, 2008
Contra Dance
Atlantic Crossing
Old Farmer's Ball
Warren Wilson College, Swannanoa, NC
Saturday, March 29, 2008
WORKSHOPS - calling & clogging
Pigtown Fling Dance Weekend
Cincinnati, OH
Saturday, March 15, 2008
Contra Dance
Appalachian Storm
Historic Jonesborough Dance Society
Jonesborough, TN
Friday, March 14, 2008
Contra Dance
Appalachian Storm
Charleston, SC
Saturday, March 8, 2008
Family Dance 6:00 - 7:30 +
Asheville Community Dance Contra Dance 8:00 - 11:00
Appalachian Storm
Calvary Episcopal Church, Fletcher, NC
Saturday, March 1, 2008 
Benefit Dance for Crossnore School
Appalachian Storm +
the Davey-ohs (David White and David Polechko)
River Falls Lodge, SC
Harvest Moon Folk Society
 
Saturday, February 22, 2008
Davidson College Green Ball - Benefit for Davidson Lands Conservancy
Land of Sky: Roger Gold, Laura Lengnick, Paul Moore
Davidson College
Thursday, February 14, 2008
event 7:00 - 10:00, dance 8:30 - 10:00
Benefit Dance - Iraq Veterans Against the War
Roger Gold and Laura Lengnick
UNC-Asheville
Wednesday, February 13, 2008
Contra Dance
Land of Sky: Lauran Lengnick, Roger Gold, Paul Moore
Harvest Moon Folk Society
Greenville, SC
Friday, February 8, 2008 
Advanced Dance
Steam Shovel
River Falls Lodge, SC
Harvest Moon Folk Society
 
Friday, January 25, 2008
Contra Dance
Appalachian Storm
Brevard College
Saturday, January 12, 2008
Family Dance 6:00 - 7:30 +
Asheville Community Dance Contra Dance 8:00 - 11:00
Laura Lengnick, Karen Gaughan, Suzanne Hosch, John Culp
Calvary Episcopal Church, Fletcher, NC
Saturday, January 5, 2008
Contra Dance
Footloose
Century Center, Carrboro, NC



Back to Current Schedule
Home